The Irresistible Lure of the Road

When I came back from the 28 month adventure, I swore an oath at the seaside in Monaco. I vowed that I would not rest until I am able to travel again far and wide to explore the entire world. There I was surrounded by every sort of luxurious cars, goods and yachts imaginable and all I could think of was the freedom of the road, the excitement of seeing new places, meeting new people and creating unforgettable memories on across the planet.
 
I have held true to my promise and am relentlessly approaching the targets. The South America 2021 project is alive and well and after that, Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, even Antarctica. I have chosen to play the long term game. When the time comes, backpack in hand I will once again embrace the ever-changing horizons. Meanwhile, it’s not a bad thing at all to be living in a country like Malta. For all its warts, Malta has a lot going for it, especially in Summer.
I don’t know whether I was born to do this or whether it’s an acquired taste. All I know is that the idea of diving with sharks again fills me with intense thrills. All the animals and places I read about as a child come alive when you see them in real life. They tell stories of their own. During your travels, you have to rely on intelligence, quick thinking, charisma and endurance to solve unfamiliar challenges. You encounter various cultures and use a number of languages. You shed prejudice and realize to a much more refined degree how the world works and where it fails spectacularly.
I can completely understand why some choose the comfort of home and family. Stability can be a powerful motivator and the fear of change is palpable in many. My travel style is unorthodox and stresses experiences over comfort. It is certainly not for the faint-hearted, nor for the vast majority of the population. I have experienced devastatingly heart wrenching moments but these have been more than offset by ecstatically joyful and serene feelings. If all goes well, I should be able to eventually transition to a semi-permanent state of travelling. For now though, perhaps I can trasmit some of this passion and knowledge to others for whom Malta itself is the adventure of a lifetime.
The Irresistible Lure of the Road

Leave a Reply

